Travel

Day 4: Still On American Time

I might be European at heart, but my body clearly belongs in the States, because it is rejecting Central European Time hard – I just woke up, and it is 2:30pm. Went to bed at 5:15am, because I was not tired despite waking up at 9:00 and walking around all day. Luckily today is Saturday and I didn’t miss anything, but still…not ideal.

Log this under Things I’ve Learned About Myself Since College Began: I am a creature of habit. Put that together pretty definitively when I realized my nightmares are much worse and much more frequent when I change sleeping locations (home to school, school to home, etc). Only reason I ended up crossing high-priced call girl off my list of possible career paths. Luckily, even though I haven’t quite at all regulated my sleep patterns, I am thus far nightmare-free. Knock on wood.

In any case, once classes start on Monday it’s time to set about building some sort of routine. I purposely built my schedule last semester so every weekday went from 9:20 or 9:30 until 5:00 or 5:05, with a lunch break, and I absolutely loved it. Adjusting to this uh…sparse class schedule may be interesting. Off to start the day six hours late!

 

Standard

Leave a Reply

